Florida State University

Commitment to Promoting Diversity, Inclusion, and Belongingness

Apply Now

FSU's interdisciplinary Program in Neuroscience provides doctoral training in several broad areas of research excellence. Additional information about our program can be found on our Prospective Graduate Student page.

Application deadline is Dec. 1, 2022.

Learn More...

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disorders (NIDDK) has awarded a $2.7 million, 4-year multi-PI award to Dr. Linda Rinaman (FSU Program in Neuroscience) and Dr. Pat Levitt (Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles) to study how early life adversity impacts vagal neuron gene expression and circuit connectivity in a developmental mouse model.

Congratulations to Caitlyn Edwards on receiving a $20,000 P.E.O. Scholar Award. Caitlyn, a graduate student in the Rinaman Lab, is studying the role of noradrenergic neurons in the nucleus of the solitary tract in conditioned avoidance behaviors in rodent models. The P.E.O. Scholar Awards Program was established in 1991 to provide substantial merit-based awards for women pursuing doctoral degrees in the U.S. and Canada.

The Program in Neuroscience is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Clara Kibler Davis Scholarship: Congratulations to Jennifer Cott (Schmidt lab) and Tyla Dolezel (Rinaman lab). This annual award honors two female undergraduate neuroscience majors who have been actively engaged in research during their senior year.

Jessica Moser, 2021 Goldwater Scholar

Behavioral Neuroscience undergraduate major, Jessica Moser, was selected as a 2021 Goldwater Scholar. The Goldwater Scholarship Foundation selects award recipients who have the potential to become tomorrow's research leaders, and provides up to $7,500 in support of the recipient's educational expenses. Working with her mentor, Dr. Doug Storace in the Biology department, Jessica has been conducting research examining the role of dopamine receptors in the olfactory bulb. Her long-term career goal is to obtain a Ph.D. in Neuroscience and conduct research on hydrocephalus to find a cure for the condition.